Thirty-four Michigan Entities Receive Blight Funds from Foreclosure Settlement

The Michigan Department of Human Services (DHS), Michigan Land Bank, and Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA) recently announced $15 million has been allocated to communities throughout the state to fund blight elimination activities.

These grants were funded  with a portion of the $97.2 million Michigan received through the National Attorneys’ General Settlement reached in February of 2012. The state legislature set aside $10 million of the settlement funds for blight elimination within the City of Detroit,  while $15 million was designated for communities throughout the state and distributed through a competitive application process. Thirty-four municipal, county, and township entities received funds after the review of 90 applications.

Michigan DHS, which reviewed proposals along with the Michigan Land Bank and MSHDA,  reported allocation decisions were made on the basis of descriptions of proposed project(s), post-demolition land use plans, anticipated public safety benefits, potential property value stabilization, and economic development.

The largest share of the statewide funding was received by the City of Flint and the Genesee County Land Bank. The entities submitted a joint application on behalf of the Flint area and received a $3.7 million grant. See the table below for all other fund allocations.


Award Amount

Genesee County Land Bank


Ingham County Land Bank


City of Plainwell


City of Bay City


Charter Twp. Of Ypsilanti




Saginaw County Land Bank


Genesee County Planning  Commission


Grand Traverse County


Marquette County Land Bank


LIFT Foundation


City of Manistee Housing Commision


Village of Newberry


Kalamazoo County Land Bank


Northern Homes CDC




Reed City


Berrien-Cass-Van Buren Michigan



City of Mt. Pleasant


City of AuGres


City of East Tawas


City of Vassar


NCCS Center for Non-Profit Housing


Northeast Michigan Affordable Housing


City of Coldwater


City of Pontiac


Houghton County Land Bank


Village of Ravenna


Brevort Township


City of Muskegon


City of Petoskey


City of Onaway


Village of Constantine


Leelanau County Land Bank


Total Amount: